Reason #14 Why I Love New York: Stories on Broadway!

This shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone – Broadway plays are universally acclaimed, but it has certainly been an eye-opener for how intricate a show could possibly be. The colors, the music, all the gorgeous set changes, the sweeping emotions – it’s all mesmerizing. I’ve watched classics like The Phantom of the Opera. I’ve watched the grittier ones like A Bronx Tale, and Chicago. I’ve watched laugh-out-loud shows like Mamma Mia and Kinky Boots, and dreamier shows like An American in Paris, and Once, the musical.

If you have ever met me, you know that I LOVE stories. I have been a bookworm since I can remember. I was reading before my parents realized I could, around the age of 4. And it never went away – I am constantly seeking out more stories all day, every day. My day begins with a book along with my morning coffee. I switch over to real-life stories on podcasts while I’m working in lab (after  five years of research, I’m fully capable of doing most benchwork on autopilot, once I’ve thought out my experiments). I then segue into binge-watching dramatic TV shows (especially ones with more than 5 seasons. Stories that go on and on!) at dinnertime, and then back to reading in bed before I fall asleep.

A lot of my favorite stories are fiction – because I like to lose myself into something bigger and better, something different and more fantastical. Something grand, with a flourish of dramatic emotions and uncontrollable passion.

However, stories based are reality are often equally strange and compelling. While my preferred format for non-fiction stories is hardly ever in the form of books, I do thoroughly enjoy listening to people narrate their tales, in the way of loud impassioned conversations during lunch in the cafeteria or while catching up over coffee. Some people have the most exciting content, because they live pretty exciting lives, and then there are others whose narration is so descriptive that they make the most mundane events sound fascinating. I’m constantly trying to learn both – to live my life in a way that ensures getting the most entertaining material, but also to pick up good narration skills.

As an extension of my love for stories, I also (obviously) enjoy thinking of my own life as a story. To see myself as a protagonist on my own thrilling journey! See, I moved to NYC in my early 20s, reminiscent of many leading ladies of classic romantic comedies. I came here in search of adventure, and starting a new phase of my life, and what a story it has been! There have been plot twists and cliff hangers, passion and intrigue, butterflies and broken hearts, and lessons I am still learning. There have been several protagonists, arch enemies, supporting characters, and many many plot arcs, such as – the stressed and overworked PhD student. The immigrant struggling to find her footing in a whole new culture. The building of a new support system from scratch, and yes, the eternal quest of the romantic sort. Many plot lines, intricately intertwined – and yet, underlying it all has been another story connecting them all, the love story between New York City and me.

I used to think I already had enough stories available to me, in the form of books and conversations and movies and podcasts – however, moving to NYC has completely widened the format of stories that are available to me: wonderful, tragic, soul-crushing, heart-wrenching stories depicted in the form of tragic Italian operas, gorgeously stunning ballet performances depicting lovely stories like A Midsummer Night’s Dream, spur-of-the-moment improvisation shows – but my favorite mode by far has been via Broadway shows.

This shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone – Broadway plays are universally acclaimed, but it has certainly been an eye-opener for how intricate a show could possibly be. The colors, the music, all the gorgeous set changes, the sweeping emotions – it’s all mesmerizing. I’ve watched classics like The Phantom of the Opera. I’ve watched the grittier ones like A Bronx Tale, and Chicago. I’ve watched laugh-out-loud shows like Mamma Mia and Kinky Boots, and dreamier shows like An American in Paris, and Once, the musical (side note: there’s no point in going for a Broadway show that isn’t a musical). By far, my favorite shows have involved Disney or happy ever afters, which again, should come as no surprise whatsoever. Disney defined my childhood, and I am very used to seeing talking animals as plucky sidekicks, genies bursting out of lamps, and people breaking into song at the drop of the hat (I would like to claim Bollywood to be an influence too, but I was one of those rare Indians who weren’t exposed to Bollywood till the ripe age of 20) – it is safe to say that I’m very comfortable with songs for every occasion. Come to think of of it, this might be what led to my propensity to designate a song for every mood (I mean, everyone does that, right? Right?) Broadway shows are a thrilling experience: the special effects! The dazzle! The glittery costumes, the dance numbers, and just the sheer energy on the stage and the audience!

So thank you, New York. Thank you for Broadway. Thank you for the magic. And for the reminder that incredible stories are always just a subway ride away!

One thought on “Reason #14 Why I Love New York: Stories on Broadway!”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.