Admissions – Part 2

I’m back … got my silver lining, and how! It’s bright and sparkly, almost dazzling … lighting up my whole sky … seared across my vision, even when I look away, down on the ground, watching my step, pruning my garden … I can’t help but be aware of the sparkle in my sky … it’s always there now … a constant, a beacon of happiness … right there, in the background, even if I’m not looking. This indeed is the loveliest lining of silver one can ever have.

Admissions season is over, and so are the long days of waiting – now is the time to exult, to rejoice, to jump up and down whooping in celebration. Or on a quieter note … to feel good about yourself, to thank your lucky stars, to keep smiling on the inside, knowing that something wonderful awaits you.

I got accepted, you see. I got into my dream school! And not only that, I got options – some really good options – and isn’t it simply fabulous to be able to make a choice and decide? To have several wonderful people wanting you to join their place … to be courted, wooed, coveted? It’s been amazing, and I have finally made my choice. And yes, right there … I’ve committed the next five years of my life! It’s terrifying and overwhelming at some level, but I’m mostly just really,  really excited. A whole new life, rich and varied, lies ahead of me. I know it won’t be an easy road – there’ll be obstacles, potholes, fallen trees – but oh, it’s a new un-trodden road … and I simply can’t wait to start on my journey.

So it’s true – every cloud DOES have a silver lining. Even when the clouds are dark and menacing, covering up the whole sky, blocking out every possible sliver of light … it’ll be there. Sooner or later, we will have our silver linings. And then we can fling away our umbrellas, lift our merry faces up to the heavens, and dance away in the rain. 🙂

One thought on “Admissions – Part 2”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.